I just joined this forum, this is my hello.

John Baker

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
John Baker
I belong to another forum that is related to my industry, picture framing. Anyway, we kind of like it when new members spend a few minutes to introduce themselves. I have no clue what y'all appreciate on this forum, so I'll just check in and see what happens.

I don't like to hide behind my posts, so my name is out front. John Baker, I'm 65, I took to flying when I was 61. I own a nice little Pipler Warrior II, N997SG. I am a mono vision pilot (student).

MY first mistake in taking up flying was to join a flying club/school. It was more of a business than a club. After two years of musical instructors (as in musical chairs) and nothing but pattern flying, it became obvious that they had no intentions of ever getting me close to a check ride, I was, what is well known in most industries, as a "cash cow".

I solved the problem by purchasing my own airplane and getting my last instructor to continue me on toward my check ride. I also changed airports to one that is more geographicly desirable. I lost another year and a half getting medical and legal problems sorted out before I actually got into some serious training.

I have now completed all the requirmets to take my check ride, and should be doing just that in the next few weeks.

I own my own picture framing business, my military was with the 101st Airborne back in the early 1960s. I have fifty military jumps and was discharged a Sgt. E-5. My formal education ended with my sucsessful completion of the 9th grade. I'm sharing that with you in an effort to get some understanding with my command of comunications.

Anyway..........Howdy!

John

Good Luck, John. Keep at it until you can get it done!:yinyang: