i have a cataract

tonycondon

Gastons CRO (Chief Dinner Reservation Officer)
Display Name

Display name:
Tony
according to the eye doctor i went to the other day. in my left eye. likely genetic. he figured id have to worry about it once im 50 or so and its bad enough to cause problems. i wonder if this is common in younger people but goes undetected until it gets to the point where it causes problems? i suppose in the past they really didn't test for cataracts? anyway I found it interesting.

otherwise my vision is good. 20/35 without glasses so i don't have to have a glasses requirement on my drivers license. i suppose i could even get a 3rd class medical without glasses/contacts required if i wanted a 3rd class.

Tony, I'm no expert, but it's probably good that you were diagnosed so young. This way you know you have it, the docs will keep an eye on it (no pun intended) and do the best thing for you. Rather than what most of us will experience, when we get to the golden age for cataracts, 60s or above and then rush, well that may not be a proper term with cataracts, into a surgery to get rid of it.

Many years ago it was a sentence to darkness but now the nearby (Odessa) eye clinic does 20 cataract removals a day, they all queue up like an assembly line, pop them out in 10 mins and back they come in the afternoon with eye patches on for their follow up check. Amazing. I know a few dogs that have had it done, too!

my grandpa has a cataract but he keeps having massive health issues like gall bladder removal or strokes right before he's supposed to get it removed.

Tony, I'm no expert, but it's probably good that you were diagnosed so young. This way you know you have it, the docs will keep an eye on it (no pun intended) and do the best thing for you. Rather than what most of us will experience, when we get to the golden age for cataracts, 60s or above and then rush, well that may not be a proper term with cataracts, into a surgery to get rid of it.