I am not a mechanic

asechrest

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
asechrest
Lately I've been sorta proud of myself. I've been doing some of my own work on my vehicle and my girlfriend's vehicle. Most recently, I replaced the font rotors on her car and had no issue. Granted, this is a terribly easy job for a good shadetree mechanic. Still, I'd never done it. Before that, I property diagnosed and replaced the vapor canister surge valve on her Malibu. And before that, I replaced her brake pads and my own, also no issue.

But the two times I've tried to help my brother with his extremely poorly maintained 2000 Ford Mustang V6, I've failed miserably. The first time was my failure to diagnose properly. We had an overheat problem that I diagnosed as a bad thermostat, but that ended up being a bad water pump. Live and learn.

He's strapped for cash and after getting a $289 quote for front brakes and rotors, tonight I told him I'd help him change them, which hasn't been done in at least 5 - 7 years. There was literally no pad material left at all on two of the four pads, and the rotors were a mess. All was going well until it was time to push the brake pistons in so the caliper would fit around the new bulky pads. Jesus they would not compress. I had the old brake pad up against the dual caliper pistons and my c-clamp attached and it was incredibly difficult to compress them, to the point of my needing additional leverage on the c-clamp handle in order to get it to twist. And even then it bent. I have not had this trouble on the three brake jobs I've done. Piston compression was relatively painless.

Eventually I was able to compress the caliper pistons enough to get around the new pads. I get everything buttoned up, have him pump the brakes, then we take it for a test drive....and I've got a spungy pedal with a large travel distance that I'm not comfortable with and braking action that seems arguable to be worse than before.