Howdy from a newbie

DaleB

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
DaleB
Just found this place again. I'm a new student pilot, more or less. I had a couple dual flights a number of years ago, but training always kept getting pushed aside for lack of time, funds or both. Well, I figure if I'm going to fly before dying of old age, I should get going... so here I am. 1.8 hours logged beginning in 1999. :)

I'm currently preparing for my knowledge test while getting ready to fly. I've set a couple of short term goals before rewarding myself with flying time, one of which is getting the PPL knowledge test out of the way. That and my upcoming medical will start the clock ticking... no more than 24 months to get my PPL before they both expire. That should help with keeping me motivated. Not that motivation to fly will be a problem, just motivation to pay for it!

I'll be flying out of MLE unless I find some reason to go somewhere else. For now I'm studying and taking practice exams - I always pass, but really don't want to go in for the "real deal" until I'm consistently at 96% or better.

So... hi... nice to be here.

Hello and welcome to PoA. I'm new too and a soon to be student again after a 20 year hiatus.

I started lessons in 1977. I stopped just prior to solo. So many interesting things to draw one's attention. In 1999 I started up again here I is.

I will say though, you might want to get your initial medical out of the way ASAP. I had listed a surgery from when I was age 4 and that opened a whole can of worms. It delayed my training 7 months until Siblerman himself stepped in at the personal request of my AME.

You might ask around to see if the FBO or others have some practice tests you can take. Time yourself, develop confidence. You just might find the biggest obstacle is a lack of confidence. Then you'll laugh thinking it wasn't as hard as you had first imagined.

Welcome Dale!