How to stay involved?

bflynn

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Brian Flynn
Sad news - it hurt to do it, but I had to resign from my flying club this month, I'm just not flying enough. Between chasing medical issues and having a son in private school with a tuition just above "youch", I can't justify spending the kind of money I think I need to spend. Maybe after he's out of college...in 8 years...

So how do I keep active and stay involved? I'm a basic VFR pilot with 150 hours.

I'm a member of CAP, but my work doesn't really allow me to participate as much as I'd like. I probably could be more aggressive in pursing this as a flight option, but it's still not cheap and they really want a commitment to fly 10 hours/month at about $100/hour.

I'd love to take a couple of years and build a plane...and that would result in inexpensive flying that I could probably afford, but I'm quite sure I would die. Not from the airplane, my wife would kill me. Yes, I know.

Thoughts?

Any other clubs ? We have 50 members most who never fly and just pay the $50 monthly dues.

Get a simulator. If nothing else, get Condor the soaring simulator.
Stay active in local pilots groups. Offer to fly as safety pilot if your medical is up to speed.
Volunteer at local Young Eagles and other aviation events and shamelessly let them know you'd like a little stick time in return.
It's tough.

Go cold turkey. Come back someday if you can.

I would recommend just reading magazines like AOPA Pilot, EAA, etc every few months just to keep your mind in it. The aviation forums are also useful for jogging your mind about this and that. You can still go rent a plane every few months and do a burger run or just pattern work if you want to exercise the skills. A handful of hours of flight time is all I've been able to gather the past several years while getting established in a career, buying a house, getting married, etc. and it's worked for me.