How to get the best deal on a used plane

Scud_072

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Scud
Hi everyone... I am a student pilot with about 25 hours, just starting on my cross country training.... I see myself getting my PP certificate in a few months so naturally I am beginning to dream about buying a plane one day. I may join a partnership, rent, or club for a while.. but one day I plan on owning a plane. I have been on Controller.com non stop for the last several weeks. I have no idea what I will end up buying of course and plan on figuring how to fly lots of different planes before I purchase one but for the sake of the three questions I will ask below, lets say I plan on buying a 1980 Bonanza advertised for $150,000.

1. Who has purchased a plane off of Controller and how much below the asking price were you able to get the plane for?

2. I don't have $150Gs laying around, so I am thinking to get a loan. I have been doing some reading about it online.. but in real life, can you get a 20 year loan on a plane that old with what down payment and at what interest rate? I am assuming 20% down but can you put less down and still get the loan (assume my credit score is 700+)? I have been assuming a 6% interest rate? Is that low or high for a used plane of this type.

3. What is the best way to get the best deal on a great plane? Buying one on the open market where there are many many for sale of the same type? Do I figure out exactly what I want, and put out into the world (like posting on this board) what I want to buy see what shows up? If it is going to be a Bonanza, do I go to a Bonanza fly-in somewhere and they all have them for sale there?

Thank you for any advice and for having compassion on my naivety.

Scud

I was in your shoes in 2012. First off, a beech bonanza is a lot of airplane for a low time pilot. Secondly 120k loan for an airplane is not the best idea financially, you'll end up paying a huge amount over the course of the loan.