How to find cheap flight instruction?

EchoKilo

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
EchoKilo
Hey guys! I'm a new guy here.

So I'm currently a student pilot who has spent a lot of time away from flying. Seven years to be precise. I've logged 27.8 hours according to my logbook and I have also soloed once. According the shirt tail hanging on my wall, my first and only solo was on 10/29/2011.

I'm looking to go back and finish my private pilot license, but the trouble is that I was 20 the last time I was training and my dad was funding it all. I don't have a great deal of money to spend on plane rental and such, so I'm trying to find alternatives to try to get it done cheaply.

My father owns a C172 XP, which is actually the plane I started training in. It was a little too much plane for my experience level so I ended up later renting a C150 and contuing my training in that. It was the more expensive route, but my dad was fitting the bill. It's possible I could use that plane again, which would prevent me from having to pay an arm and a leg to rent a plane. But then again there's also the problem that the 172 XP is just a little too tough to handle for a low-hour student pilot.

I also haven't found any instructors or flight schools near me that still use 150s. I'm not sure if there are any who would be willing to use my plane.

So I suppose my questions are - what would it cost me roughly if I were to use my own plane? Are there cheaper routes to obtaining you PPL? I believe my last instructor charged me $35 per hour for the instruction not counting the plane, but I don't believe he's doing instruction anymore. I'm not really prepared to pay much more than that. Maybe $50/hour at the most.

Thanks to all who answer!

Last edited: