How to be a safety pilot?

mjburian

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Marty
I am a private pilot with just over 70 hours. I'm considering going for my IR possibly starting in the spring. In the meantime, I'm looking for the best (most interesting, most educational, cheapest, etc) way to build some PIC time, especially for cross country flights.

My question is, would being a safety pilot for an IR student fit this criteria? If so, what is involved? Is there any additional training I need to (or should) get? Or am I just a set of eyes to look out for traffic while the IR student is under the hood?

Any help would be appreciated.

You about covered it. I would add that you should know the pilot you are flying with. As he will be in-control of the plane. You should also be comfortable flying the plane just in case.

Generally but not always, it is easy to find a pilot to split time with. 1 hr each sorta thing. If you want CC time I would find a IFR pilot and fly some acctual IFR CC (Does not have to be IMC). Puts you way ahead of the game as far as ATC goes.

Dan

You about covered it. I would add that you should know the pilot you are flying with. As he will be in-control of the plane. You should also be comfortable flying the plane just in case.

Generally but not always, it is easy to find a pilot to split time with. 1 hr each sorta thing. If you want CC time I would find a IFR pilot and fly some acctual IFR CC (Does not have to be IMC). Puts you way ahead of the game as far as ATC goes.

Dan

There is at least one pilot that I know fairly well (but have never flown with) that has asked if I would be a safety pilot for him. Also, Stan is flying out of KUES which isn't far from me. Not sure if he needs it, but I have considered offering anyway.