How realistic are these ownership costs

injb

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
jb
I was pretty surprised when I saw this, as he claims you can own and operate a plane for a lot less than I assumed. He has another video where he does a similar breakdown for an Aeronca Champ and he comes up with an even lower cost. Tldr version: he reckons you can get the total cost down to around $50/hour if you buy a $15K C150 and fly for 100 hours a year.

Just wondering how this compares to peoples experience here? Thanks!

You can. Right up to the moment that you have a stuck valve or there is a puddle of oil under the engine.

But is there nothing you can do about that kind of thing before you buy? I don't know if it compares at all, but I have some experience with classic sports cars and while a lot of people get burned, the fact is that with a good inspection by someone who knows what they're doing, there is very little left to chance, even with the engine internals. Is it not like that with planes?

But is there nothing you can do about that kind of thing before you buy?
yes there is, buy the best condition aircraft in the market for that make and model.

But is there nothing you can do about that kind of thing before you buy? I don't know if it compares at all, but I have some experience with classic sports cars and while a lot of people get burned, the fact is that with a good inspection by someone who knows what they're doing, there is very little left to chance, even with the engine internals. Is it not like that with planes?

Ain't no such thing as a sure thing.

For some reason its not like that with planes. An unbiased competent inspection can guard you against many things like:
- buying a plane with corrosion
- buying a plane with unrepaired accident damage (e.g. a wrinkled firewall)
- buying a plane that is misrepresented
- buying a fabric plane with fabric at the end of its useful life

It can't protect you against:
- a cylinder cracking