How much does it cost to get an airplane certified?

easik

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
easik
Just curious. I see a lot of airplane prototypes take a long time to market or they just get stuck in the certification process for years. I've had conversations with a few pilots and I've heard cost numbers as high as $100 million to get an airplane certified. And I mean actual certified aircraft like a Cirrus SR22.
My initial reaction was; NO WAY it cost that much. Or does it?

Yes... yes it can. Some cost even more.

When I graduated from college in 2004, my prof's were involved and for some GA aircraft they estimated $30MM. Of course your results may vary.

The more complex the plane the costlier the certification. Something as seemingly simple on the surface such as FIKI certification is a real bear. Then again, the flip side is that when you need those systems you want to know that they were tested to the hilt. I would think 100mil on more on the side of a complex cross-country plane. Perhaps less for a trainer type aircraft.

The more complex the plane the costlier the certification. Something as seemingly simple on the surface such as FIKI certification is a real bear. Then again, the flip side is that when you need those systems you want to know that they were tested to the hilt. I would think 100mil on more on the side of a complex cross-country plane. Perhaps less for a trainer type aircraft.
Okay I understand a simple scratch on the body frame can mean going back to the drawing board. But my curiosity is; where does most of that cost go into? is it design, fees or testing of prototypes? and then you still have to have some budget for marketing.