Home IFR training sims?

Anybody else notice G-Man hasn't been back since the original post?....probably walked off shaking his head by now... LOL

Jim

Lol...there are a select few on this forum who tend to do that.

Labbadaba. Do ou have a YouTube video of your setup and philosophy of its use? I too am considering a home sim for IFR procedures.

Many here advocate chair flying to reinforce procedures and flow; what many simmers have is just that but instead of using the imagination there's a tangible element. If I were just looking for a toy, I'd go old school and fire up X-Wing and go blow up a TIE Fighter.

Thanks to my sim I've been able reinforce real-world skills that I've taken from my training. I'm a 100 hour pilot in real life and I have a TON to learn yet as I progress. The sim in conjunction with services such as PilotEdge has accelerated my learning and have presented me with situations I would never have been able come up with while working my 40 hours under the hood.

I dig it, it is a "fancy" chair flying apparatus. You get your head in the game, picture where you are in space relative to a navaid or whatever. You picture how the approach is going to go, you read the plate, brief the approach and the missed, fly it, and maybe even go partial panel where the attitude indicator sloooowwly tumbes at some random time during the flight.

I didn't hear you say this directly, but the talking part is great practice too.

WHich is sim that has the live ATC in it? Is that worth it? Looking for anything to help my IFR training along when the weather is crap in the NE. I can fly the plane by instruments, do approaches already. My shortfall is communication with ATC and reading the IFR charts.

WHich is sim that has the live ATC in it? Is that worth it? Looking for anything to help my IFR training along when the weather is crap in the NE. I can fly the plane by instruments, do approaches already. My shortfall is communication with ATC and reading the IFR charts.