High-RPM prop stop question

BigBadLou

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Lou
Greetings,

my mechanic told me last night that my constant-speed propeller should not allow my engine to get up to the redline RPM (2700 by the book) while stopped. They call it "static RPM" and he says that it should be around 2500.
I checked the PoH and it does not mention static RPM or any other RPM check.
Where can I find this information?

My mechanic says that the flat-pitch stop should be adjusted to lower the static RPM.
Sure, I don't mind. But I must wonder why one would want to limit the RPM while not in motion, let's say at the beginning of ground roll for takeoff. Is there a benefit to it? (I cannot think of one but then again, I am not a mechanic or engine designer)

Thanks in advance for good information.
Lou

Most I've seen will go all the way to the redline that's on the tac, not past that through.

What plane and engine?

mine will not do redline at static.....once on the roll (~40kts) the prop does come off the low pitch stops and redlines at 2,700 rpm.

I have a TSIO-520-D with a three blade McCauley prop.

Some will reach redline static, some will come close and only reach it in the takeoff roll. 2500 for a 2700 RPM redline is too low. Sounds like maybe the low-pitch stops in the prop aren't set properly.

Where would one find the static RPM information? I downloaded some maintenance manuals but they do not disclose that information either.

Prop pitch limits are listed in the TCDS. Redline RPM is determined by the prop governor. Static RPM isn't an important value with CS props since it would change with blade length, number of blades, etc. Static RPM is important for fixed pitch props and the TCDS info for my Cubs (for example) includes static RPM limits.

Last edited:
Your mechanic is correct. A static run with constant speed prop should NEVER reach red line.

"""""NOTE: On static runs, the propeller should prevent the engine RPM from going to red