High performance checkout

182ms

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
C182ms
I have just purchased a C182p and the ac is located in west Texas near ama.

My son is a newly minted ppl and I am an airline pilot with little recent ga experience.

I am looking for someone to possibly (cfi) ferry with my son and I from ama to Cincinnati or spend some time in our airplane getting a high performance sign off for him prior to the flight to Cincinnati.

Ideally he could get signed off in the Cincinnati area (in a 182) prior to the trip but I am open to ideas.

Thank you.

Fwiw, the accident statistics on owners ferrying new to them AC is shockingly bad.
Can't recall where I read it recently, but got my attention.
Factor in low time in winter adds even more possible challenges.
I'd get a good CFI to ride right seat and enjoy the trip.

182 is a fairly simple machine. Flies like a 172 with more torque and p factor, plus CS prop and cowl flaps. IMO a few hours of dual with a CFI at the point of sale should be sufficient. VFR XC from Texas to Cincy in winter is a big bite to chew for a brand new PPL alone, but the two of you together should be fine, as long as you are willing to wait out weather enroute if necessary. IMO sounds like a great father-son adventure.

182 is a fairly simple machine. Flies like a 172 with more torque and p factor, plus CS prop and cowl flaps. IMO a few hours of dual with a CFI at the point of sale should be sufficient. VFR XC from Texas to Cincy in winter is a big bite to chew for a brand new PPL alone, but the two of you together should be fine, as long as you are willing to wait out weather enroute if necessary. IMO sounds like a great father-son adventure.