Help me plan my IFR adventure

AndrewX

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew
I'm a new instrument student. Part 61. I still need 27 hours of sim or actual IMC and 24 hours of XC. I also still need to complete the long IFR XC. I've already passed the written.

My CFII has agreed to accompany me on a 3-day IFR training trip. We are starting in Nashville (KMQY) and the general idea is to travel to the Space Coast on day one, down to Key West and back north, on day two, then back home on day three. The aircraft is a g1000 equipped C172. My goals are to gain real-life experience in the system, to log towards the time needed for my IR and to have some fun along the way. We don't have to go to Florida, so other destinations are an option.
My initial thought is to fly 3-4 hours in the morning with an approach along the way. Stop for lunch and another 3-4 hours after lunch. Repeat for three days.

I would appreciate advice and suggestions on this trip.

6-8 hours under the hood and/or IMC may wear your butt out, especially if it ends up mostly IMC. Unless you have an autopilot and your CFI allows you to use it. IMO 3-4 would be the max daily, not saying you couldn't do 6-8 hours a day either. To make it productive training I'd suggest flying shorter legs, say around an hour, shoot an approach or two, then continue on to the next leg and repeat. If you fly straight and level for say 3 hours and shoot one approach you'd be wasting valuable training time IMO. This way you'd experience different approaches to different airports under different ATC. Sounds like a fun trip.

Make sure your basic atitude instrument flying is up to par. It’s tough to do any other IFR training if you have a crappy scan.