Help me clarify thoughts on first airplane purchase

psween

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
psween
Apologies to those who may have seen this post on the red board, but I want as much feedback as I can find.

I've been lurking and reading extensively on here and other boards, trying to wrap my head around ownership. I am not at the point where I'll be buying now, but I expect in the next year or so I'll be shopping for real. Here's what I 'think' I'm looking for:

150-180 hp
Not complex or HP
4 Seats
Grass strip ok

My main mission will be time building, pancake breakfasts, give the kids rides, local stuff. Maybe once or twice a year a 300-500 mile XC. I'd like something with at least a basic IFR panel because part of my time building will be working toward the IFR rating, and eventually onto a commercial and CFI ticket.

I'm a low time private pilot (about 100 hrs. TT) with at least a few hours in a Cherokee 140, Cherokee 6-300, C172 (my primary trainer), 150, Grumman AA5B (majority of hours). I've got a handful of hours in a number of homebuilts and an acro introduction in an Extra. I'm an A&P, although not an IA, and plan to do my own maintenance except the annual inspection. I live on a 2700' grass strip (7MN3) in flat land with minimal terrain or obstructions around and own a hangar to keep it in.

Right now I keep coming back to the Grumman Traveler/Cheetah, since I liked the Tiger I flew, but a Cherokee 140/160 or older 172 may also fit the bill. Is it crazy to think I might find something under $30K? I'm not too concerned about cosmetics or a mid-high time engine as long as it's mechanically sound. I don't want a 'project' but would be willing to upgrade minor stuff along the way, although big panel upgrades aren't in the budget.

I realize the purchase price is only the tip of the iceberg for cost, but figure I have some advantages to keep cost down. Any advice from those who've gone down this road would be welcome!

Patrick Sween