Heading to Chicago

Bman.

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Bman.
Hey all-

I have been working on vacation plans with the wife and kids - where to go and what to do. Of course, my first thought is "Where can I go with the plane!?!" I am about to close on a partnership deal on a PA-28-181 and just want to go somewhere. For vacation we have decided on Chicago from Springfield (MO.). It's a decent hop and no one in the family will start complaining before we are about to arrive.

I am still a low time pilot (150 hrs) and really need to stretch my wings a bit. I fly around KSGF (Class C) which is pretty quiet, over to Wichita (KICT) which can get fairly busy and up to Downtown St. Louis (KCPS). I am trying to pick out the right airport for both flying into, expense and ultimately getting to downtown Chicago.

Naturally my options are:

Gary Indiana (KGYY)
Fuel = $4.10 gal
Landing Fee = $0.00
Parking = $0.00 until 3rd night
45 minute drive
UberXL $89 ~ $116 (Or train from Gary = $20 one way (4 tickets) to Millennium Park Station – then uber or taxi to hotel)

Chicago Midway (KMDW)
Fuel = $8.17 gal
Landing Fee & Facility Fee = $47.50
Parking = $20 per night
25 minute drive
UberXL = $34 ~ $45

Chicago Executive (KPWK)
Fuel = $6.20 gal
Landing Fee / Handling Fee = $45
Tie Down = $25 per night
39 minute drive
UberXL = $59 ~ $78

Since I have never have flown into the area, what do you recommend? I am flying VFR (working on instrument). I am leaning towards Gary simply because the fuel is cheaper, the tie down is cheaper but the drive into town left something to be desired but in the grand scheme of things, meh - who cares. I am going on vacation.

What would you recommend for a family of 4 coming in for some vacation time? Gary seems low stress. I don't know about the train from Gary to downtown Chicago.

Any way, looking for some advice or recommendations if there are any.

Thanks-
Benjamin