Have you ever had to put your flight training on hold because of college and life?

N918KT

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
KT
Have you ever had to put off your flight training because life just gets in the way? For college students, did you also have to put it on hold because of going off to college? Did you try to do flight training whenever you can when you're in college such as during winter and summer breaks?

For me, it's almost becoming a reality since I'm a student at a 4 year school and just trying to come home during the semester often for flight lessons is not worth it when you have homework, projects, and exams in the way. Is it the same way for you guys as well living at 4-year schools?

Re: Have you ever had to put your flight training on hold because of college and life

I didn't find time and money for it until I was 58. Wished I could have started sooner. Thankful I could do it at all.

Re: Have you ever had to put your flight training on hold because of college and life

most 4 year universities are located in towns with airports. More people than not have had interruptions in their flight training do to life intervening and their personal priorities.

I started my PPL training last summer and unfortunately was only halfway done when I had to go back to college. Luckily I there was a flight school and an airport in my college town so I just switched schools and finished during my semester at college. It can be done.

I put it on hold for 25 years. Does that count? :dunno:

Yes. I got my ppl in '87, added the IR in '90, took time off from flying '91-'93 for a Masters.

Then in '94 I bought my cherokee 140 as a graduation present to myself. :)

Most college students have more time and money now then they will have for a few decades after graduation. If you want it buck up and get it. If you do have to take a life break it is truckloads easier tonreturn if you have a license.

Somewhere between college and kids usually works out well.