Have my first Angel Flight next week...

Hobobiker

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hobo
I've been asking to become involved as a co-pilot with other AF pilots until my hours increase and I get my IR, and have the opportunity next week. I would much prefer that my community volunteer hours go toward flying those in need vs. sitting in a meeting room once a month. It's sometimes difficult to fly co-pilot if the patient has a passenger with them (for weight and balance reasons), so I'm glad that this one is working out.

I know some have mixed feelings about AF and I'm not trying to poke that bear. Just looking forward to doing some flying to help someone vs. poking holes in the sky for XC or IFR training.

Have a good weekend all...

I'm curious why people have mixed feelings about angel flight?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I'm curious why people have mixed feelings about angel flight?

I haven't heard anything negative since I've been a pilot, but back in the 90s, there were some abuses. There were some cases of AF execs uses the service for their own personal transportation.

I have been a member of AF West and Mod-Atlantic and never encountered any such issues.

Any experience anyone with AF in the Northeast?

Go and do it without hesitation. Its very rewarding. I have been doing for 10 + years with 3-4 missions per year average and glad I did it. Not only you get to fly for a purpose vs boring a hole in the sky but most passengers are very grateful and you feel good at the end of the day. Tax write off is a perk but also you can get your feet wet with class B airports without paying any fees.

I have been with AF east for last 6-7 years. What exactly you want to know

Just general impressions/experience, just as you provided...