Hauling Skydivers????

OkieFlyer

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Andrew L.
A friend of mine is an avid skydiver, but recently, the skydiving company he usually flies with closed. He hit me up to see if I would take him up from time to time, and it would be my pleasure to oblige him, but I was wondering if there are any rules against it. I'm a private pilot, SEL, and that's it. There wouldn't be any money exchanged, so that's not an issue, but I wasn't sure if I would need any training like what is required for glider towing. Any insight would be quite helpful. I've never done it before, but I can't imagine there would be much to having a guy bail out the door in flight. :dunno:

I would say if you take reasonable precautions to avoid damages to persons or property, you're good.:wink2:

A friend of mine is an avid skydiver, but recently, the skydiving company he usually flies with closed. He hit me up to see if I would take him up from time to time, and it would be my pleasure to oblige him, but I was wondering if there are any rules against it. I'm a private pilot, SEL, and that's it. There wouldn't be any money exchanged, so that's not an issue, but I wasn't sure if I would need any training like what is required for glider towing. Any insight would be quite helpful. I've never done it before, but I can't imagine there would be much to having a guy bail out the door in flight. :dunno:
I'm not even sure how he would get out of the airplane without a modified door.
Granted, it's been 30 years since I was a jump pilot, but we were required to wear an emergency chute and file a notam. Not sure if that was regulatory or club policy.
There are also insurance issues to be concerned with.

In short, I wouldn't do it even if it is legal.

Yes you can,

Yes he should be able to get out most doors

If you don't remove the door you're ok without the pilots parachute, doesn't mean this is a good idea, but you're legal.