Guys, where do you carry your medical cert?

inav8r

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Mike B.
I assume that most of you keep your plastic pilots certificate in your wallet, but what about your medical? How well will they hold up?

I used to (still do) keep my medical certificate in my log book (because as a student I had to have both when flying), but now that I don't have to carry my log book with me (and it's safer not to) I'm up in arms about where to carry it.

I have my temporary airman's certificate folded nicely in my wallet, but it only has to survive 4 months - whereas my medical has 2 more years it needs to last and I'm curious of the paper they're printed on will last that long in a wallet.

Mine's in the wallet underneath the pilot's certificate. Seems to do fine. But then I don't swim with my wallet.:D It's not like you get it out very often.

I keep both my license and my medical in a compartment in my flight bag. The only time I need them is when I'm flying and I always take my flight bag.

Anthony said:
I keep both my license and my medical in a compartment in my flight bag. The only time I need them is when I'm flying and I always take my flight bag.

I carry mine in my wallet, next to my pilot's certificate. There have been times when I've gotten a chance to fly when I don't have the rest of my flying stuff (bag etc) with me, especially out of town.

I made a pocket by taping a piece of paper into my logbook. That holds my medical.

Mine's in my wallet under my pilots certificate. It holds up just fine, but then I do get a new one every year...

NickDBrennan said:
I made a pocket by taping a piece of paper into my logbook. That holds my medical.