GTX345 questions

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by AggieMike88, May 14, 2018.

  1. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,315
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    What method does the GTX345 use to connect to tablet EFB's like ForeFlight?

    Bluetooth or WiFi?​

    The Club recently installed one of these into our Skylane. And I'm reading the manual to learn what I need to know other than pushing buttons for the squawk code.

    Reading section 3.4.1 of the manual, it describes how to pair the GTX345 Bluetooth with your device.


    Now the aircraft is in a club with 16 members, all of us using their mobile EFB.

    Do I need to plan on doing the "pair device" sequence each time I use the aircraft after someone else? Or can the GTX345 remember multiple paired devices?
     
  2. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,315
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Nevermind.... was looking in the wrong section.... Found my answer...

    BLUETOOTH (GTX 345) – This page displays the status of the GTX 345 Bluetooth function. This page will not display when the GTX 345 connects to a GX000 or GTN over HSDB. The Bluetooth function is automatically placed into pairing mode when this page is displayed. Pairing must be initiated by the PED and then confirmed on the GTX 345. The last 13 paired PEDs are saved. At system power on, the GTX 345 automatically connects to any available and previously saved paired PEDs. PEDs that are currently connected and paired are viewed/deleted via the CRSR and 8 and 9keys. For instructions on Bluetooth pairing refer to section 3.4.1.
     
  3. arnoha

    arnoha Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    arnoha
    Ooof...only 13. When I go GTX, I think I'm going to have an issue. My club has nearly 1,000 members, though not all are active or fly my 172. Wonder if there's a "pin" feature to force my devices to stay in memory.
     
  4. James331

    James331 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    17,375
    Location:
    Behind you!
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    James331
    Damn dude! That's like a whole town
     
  5. BGF_Yankee

    BGF_Yankee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Winchester, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BGF_Yankee
    This also depends on what other equipment you have in the aircraft. If you have a GTN with Flightstream, it's still Bluetooth, but it's handled a little differently.
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  6. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,315
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Currently, the CNX80/GNS480.

    But the club has discussed a longer term plan of installing a GTN750 and using the Flightstream datacard.
     
  7. BGF_Yankee

    BGF_Yankee Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2015
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Winchester, TN
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    BGF_Yankee
    In that instance, the Bluetooth in the GTX345 would be disabled and signal routed through the Flightstream (if it's a 510 that is). On bootup, the iPad would connect to the Flightstream initially through a WiFi signal. This occurs so that you can transfer/update your database on the GTN. Once bootup is complete and you are ready to start using the GTN & GTX, the Flightstream will connect via Bluetooth. With the latest updates, everything is routed through the Flightstream (again, if it's a 510) so you are not required to connect to both the GTN and GTX individually. The GTN actually has a slick menu buried in the settings section where you can manage connections and determine whether or not you want connections to reestablish automatically.
     
    denverpilot and flyingcheesehead like this.
  8. Craig Hammond

    Craig Hammond Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    spna
    In my setup, GTN650 w/ 345 w/ 510, the Connext (Bluetooth) is active and available to pair devices on both the FS510 and GTX 345. Both of the Connext (FS510 and GTX345) are configured by way of the GTN650 Connext page.
     
  9. arnoha

    arnoha Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    arnoha
    March 2018 membership is 924. Just checked the monthly email. That's for 51 aircraft. With a $50/month membership fee, it's not that expensive, as flying things go, so lots of people hang on to memberships, even if they don't fly a lot. My plane typically flies on the order of 400 hours each year.

    So, yeah, the bluetooth limit of 13 could be interesting... I should see if anyone else has done this in their aircraft and how it turns out.

    (WVFC is one of three large clubs at KPAO. Yeah, it's a busy airport.)
     
  10. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    48,653
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    That’s an installation mistake according to the STC. The Bluetooth in the 345 is supposed to be disabled. It’s in the Flightstream installation documentation. Technically if they’re both still enabled the installation isn’t legal.

    Not that I care, I just researched it wondering whether any planning for fail over was done in the Garmin design if the Flightstream’s Bluetooth transmitter fails... official answer, no. Which is stupid.

    The AHRS is inside the 345. So in the event of a major panel failure, and loss of the GTN, I’m of the opinion that any tablet device on board SHOULD be able to connect directly to the 345 as backup to the Flightstream. Why not use the “backup” Bluetooth device in the 345...?

    Even sillier... the Flightstream 210 (not 510) adds an AHRS inside itself, too. Meaning you have two AHRS on board, and from someone who has that setup, you CAN use both, you just pick one. Ha. But you’re accessing both through the 210 Bluetooth.

    FS210 goes down, by the Garmin installation manual, the Bluetooth in the 345 is again supposed to be disabled so again, no backup AHRS direct from the 345.

    I suppose it’s making belt and suspenders sure that the tablet doesn’t connect to the wrong device and also not wanting to certify that the two Bluetooth chipsets won’t cause undue RF interference to each other, but they wouldn’t. Bluetooth is designed to handle that.

    I figure it’s just the certification that would have been messy.

    They should fix this and leave both chipsets enabled and just tell the one in the 345 to remain off unless serial data to/from the GTN or FS210 fails, then activate itself. Reconnect tablet, done. Built in backup.

    Or... more folks might just do the installs like yours and leave them both active. It’d take a pretty detail oriented person messing with the buttons on the front of the 345 to even figure out your install wasn’t compliant with the installation docs.

    Not picking on your setup at all. I think it’s smarter than the install doc, and have heard a number of installations “accidentally” or just unknowingly left set that way. Ours is disabled but I’ve already figured out how to change it if I really wanted to.
     
  11. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,315
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    Reading up on the user manual for the GTX345, it mentions that the "Flight ID" can be programmed, and talks about how this could be changed if needed.

    What is the advantage of having the Flight ID (and ability to change it) as part of this transponder's features?

    [​IMG]
     
  12. eman1200

    eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    10,009
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    maybe you don't want your tail# readily available or you go by some other call sign ("KiloHauler3", etc...)
     
  13. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    48,653
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    That’s the feature I was taking about in another thread. If you fly for an organization that has its own callsign and flight numbers, that’s what that’s for in the ADS-B world.

    It’s locked out in the settings in most installations to keep from inadvertently changing from your tail number to a flight number.
     
  14. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    15,315
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Now offering reverse discounts.
    And I don't anticipate anyone in our club wanting/needing to make a change.

    Do you recall this feature available on the other ADSB-out transponders such as the Lynx or the Apaero?
     
  15. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    7,955
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    If its not a Mode S transponder, i won't have Flight ID.
     
  16. denverpilot

    denverpilot Taxi to Parking

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    48,653
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    @bnt83 ‘s got it. It’s part of the Mode-S spec. Again the term “ADS-B” bites us because it encompasses multiple things. (But not as many as NexGen! LOL!)

    Any ADS-B Out solution using UAT, instead of Mode-S, I don’t think has the flight number option, but I’d have to do some digging to see if it’s in the spec but nobody bothers implementing it.
     
  17. Landing Fees

    Landing Fees Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2018
    Messages:
    167
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Landing Fees
    I change my tail number on angel flights to NGF#### however when you look up my flights on flight aware it shows the flight as my N number and NGF number. So not like I can DB Cooper it by changing my Flight ID.
     
    denverpilot and flyingcheesehead like this.