Ground Instruction Hours??

Skydreamer2015

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Skydreamer2015
How many hours of ground instruction did you receive during your instrument training? I don't mean like a ground school class, but preflight & post flight training. What I am getting at is, how much ground instruction did you pay for? What was the rate & hours charged? Thanks!

How many hours of ground instruction did you receive during your instrument training? I don't mean like a ground school class, but preflight & post flight training. What I am getting at is, how much ground instruction did you pay for? What was the rate & hours charged? Thanks!
Why do you ask?

Probably about an hour per training session. CFI had a single rate whether I was terrorizing him on the ground or in the air.

I had very little ground school as I did self study and passed the test before I started training. I had the flight schools syllabus and came prepared for every flight lesson. Instructor asked a few questions and I was always able to answer them all very quickly and easily so we just reviewed the flight portion and jumped in the plane. It really is all up to you and how much self study you are willing to put in. A relying on the CFII to teach you. I'm cheap and learn quick so I did the self study thing and used them to quiz me.

Not a lot. I did a lot of it self study and if I had a question, I'd just call or text my CFI. Or if I wanted a further explanation I'd bring it up before our flight. The only other time we do an actual ground lesson was when he gave me a mock oral in prep for the check ride.

Indeed, what's the purpose of the inquiry? Budget purposes?

I think you're going to find that the responses will vary a lot. Some instructors charge for ground lessons, some don't. Some instructors charge for pre and post flight briefings and others don't. Some charge different rates for ground vs. flight instruction, others don't.