GoPro questions

Redneckpilot

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Redneckpilot
Seriously considering a GoPro 10 to mount on the strut of my 182.
My biggest question is can the NflightCam prop filter for the Hero 10 camera be used externally?
If not, does someone make a a prop filter that is suitable for external use?

Any tips or tricks to this?
Total newbie on this.

I've got a hero 9 and have been surprised that I can shoot through the prop and not need a filter (unlike my other older GoPros).
I've also found it is only really needed on my older cameras if filming from directly behind the prop. Out on the strut I don't use one even if the prop is in the frame.

I can shoot through the prop and not need a filter

Hi.
What settings are you using?
I am testing a GP10 Black and the prop is still showing up.
Did you find a way to get external sound in?
Thanks.

Last edited:
I was always curious about what rules (if any) there are about mounting cameras externally. Are they so small that they can be mounted pretty much anywhere?

Are they so small that they can be mounted pretty much anywhere?
Hi.
Yes they are small. GP10 is about 2x3x1 in. the older models are a little smaller. The problem with the newer ones, GP10 seems to be in a need of adapters to get any sound. The GP5, 6, 7 are much easier to handle.
FAA rules do not allow mounting them permanently and if you can mount them temporarily where the strut / chain ring is, in the case o 172 / cessnas.. you can easily remove them without changing anything structurally, there is not much they care about.
DO NOT mount suction / glue / spring loaded clamps anything externally, use a screw, it's easy to make your own mount.

I was always curious about what rules (if any) there are about mounting cameras externally. Are they so small that they can be mounted pretty much anywhere?