GoPro questions

Discussion in 'Flight Following' started by Redneckpilot, Nov 18, 2022.

  1. Redneckpilot

    Redneckpilot Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2014
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    "First in Flight"

    Display name:
    Redneckpilot
    Seriously considering a GoPro 10 to mount on the strut of my 182.
    My biggest question is can the NflightCam prop filter for the Hero 10 camera be used externally?
    If not, does someone make a a prop filter that is suitable for external use?

    Any tips or tricks to this?
    Total newbie on this.
     
  2. aftCG

    aftCG Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    638

    Display name:
    aftCG
    I've got a hero 9 and have been surprised that I can shoot through the prop and not need a filter (unlike my other older GoPros).
    I've also found it is only really needed on my older cameras if filming from directly behind the prop. Out on the strut I don't use one even if the prop is in the frame.
     
  3. bluesideup

    bluesideup Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    548

    Display name:
    bluesideup
    Hi.
    What settings are you using?
    I am testing a GP10 Black and the prop is still showing up.
    Did you find a way to get external sound in?
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Nov 26, 2022
  4. PastZTL

    PastZTL Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2021
    Messages:
    172

    Display name:
    PastZTL
    I was always curious about what rules (if any) there are about mounting cameras externally. Are they so small that they can be mounted pretty much anywhere?
     
  5. bluesideup

    bluesideup Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2014
    Messages:
    548

    Display name:
    bluesideup
    Hi.
    Yes they are small. GP10 is about 2x3x1 in. the older models are a little smaller. The problem with the newer ones, GP10 seems to be in a need of adapters to get any sound. The GP5, 6, 7 are much easier to handle.
    FAA rules do not allow mounting them permanently and if you can mount them temporarily where the strut / chain ring is, in the case o 172 / cessnas.. you can easily remove them without changing anything structurally, there is not much they care about.
    DO NOT mount suction / glue / spring loaded clamps anything externally, use a screw, it's easy to make your own mount.
     
  6. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,686
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC

    Display name:
    Mark
    If you use a search engine you'll find this was a hot topic when GoPros first came out. All sorts of weird distinctions. Permanent vs temporary. Is it "maintenance" that needs to be logged? "Preventive maintenance" or mechanic required. Even down to whether it requires a too or not. I don't know if they still are, but the folks from the popular MyPilotPro clamp on mount originally advertised it as legal because it included a tightening lever so you didn't need a screwdriver.

    I guess it's technically a grey area. But with time and experience it's become ubiquitous. AFAIK, unless it drops and hits someone, it's a practical non-issue.
     
  7. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13,201
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    I will not buy another gopro. Junk. When you need it to perform it let's you down.

    Others are out there. The dji osmo works well.
     
    Justin M likes this.
  8. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    14,686
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC

    Display name:
    Mark
    I use "others" too. I have a used GoPro that loves to overheat and shut down and an Apeman that won't quit. But I thought the question about mounting was pretty generic.
     
  9. PaulS

    PaulS Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    13,201
    Location:
    New England

    Display name:
    PaulS
    It is, but it seems like he hasn't bought the go pro yet so I figured I'd let him know about the issues. I wish someone had let me know. My understanding is that they still haven't fixed it. Lots of hacks to make them a little more reliable, but they have consistently disappointed me.
     
    Steven J Crouse and midlifeflyer like this.
  10. iamtheari

    iamtheari Administrator Management Council Member PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,603

    Display name:
    Ari
    Here are some ideas from someone who ought to know: