Want To Buy Good starter plane

Zacc

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Zacc
I am currently looking for a good starter plane. Are there any good suggestions?

Define your mission, how many seats will be filled 75% of the time, short hops, long cross countries,IFR, does speed matter, budget, insurance if new pilot, fixer up or turn key...... and the list goes on?

.... and define not just your purchase budget, but also what you can afford to "burn" each month/year in fixed costs associated with ownership (hangar, maintenance, inspections, insurance, database, etc).

Are you already a pilot? Or are you seeking something to first train in, and then shortly afterwards build experience in?

Short to medium range would be preferable, maybe a long cross country once in a while. Normally there would be one to two people in the plane. Ifr would be nice but definitely not a necessity. My budget would be between 20,000-30,000. I am a new pilot. And I don’t want nothing that’s going to be super maintenance induced. Also a single piston engine.

.... and define not just your purchase budget, but also what you can afford to "burn" each month/year in fixed costs associated with ownership (hangar, maintenance, inspections, insurance, database, etc).

Are you already a pilot? Or are you seeking something to first train in, and then shortly afterwards build experience in?
You might enjoy having 3 additional pistons......at least...
Haha sorry I meant single engine

between 20,000-30,000
It will be very difficult to find a good aircraft with decent avionics for that budget. Especially if you need it to reliably go cross country.....

For 2 people plus baggage, decent avionics, decent range/speed, and better than average condition, plan on $45k-55k at minimum.

Otherwise, you'll be dumping money into a $30k aircraft and eventually wind up spending close to $15k-$20k additional.

Do you want it to be airworthy for that price?