Good god almighty! How have I missed this for 26 years? {NA}

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
Man - I woke up today, looked outside, and saw sun. Its 46 degrees. Time to take my new bike out for a spin. I decided to ride the bike to the MVD to get it registered (after getting insurance). Stayed to residentials the whole way, just to be safe (I'm really new to this), and man did I have a blast.

Coming back from the MVD, I got out on the real roads for a bit, getting up a bit more speed. I tell you what, riding a bike is probably the most exhillerating thing I've ever done. So much fun, and at a really cheap cost. I probably rode for about 5 hours today, filled up the tank, and spent just north of $6 to do it.

I can't believe I chickened out of buying one for so long. Its the best decision I ever made. I really don't want to drive my cars anywhere anymore!

Attachments

• IMAGE_044.jpg
    IMAGE_044.jpg
    510.2 KB · Views: 60
Last edited:
so much for staying in the parking lot for a while, eh nick? :)

Be careful out there. Try to take all the sensibilities you've learned flying and apply them to motorcycling. Remember you're flying solo with a plan to go get some training later on.
-harry

Welcome to the real world. Like the boys said, all gear all the time. Take it easy, and remember that you are completely invisible to all the cagers who are all actively trying to kill you (the last may not be literally true, but if you think that way you'll live longer).

And of course, enjoy.

Last edited:
I have "poisoned" all three of my kids in the last month. My youngest wants to take the bike ALWAYS, but for now I'm sticking with the car when it's under 50 degrees.

Motorcycling is a real blast, isn't it? There's really nothing like it. One of my favorite quotes, taken from "Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance":

"In a car, you watch the scenery as you drive by. On a motorcycle you're part of the scenery as you ride by"