Good article on radio communications

Discussion in 'Change to my Frequency...' started by Martin Pauly, May 20, 2020.

1. Martin Pauly

Martin Pauly Pre-takeoff checklist

Display Name:

Display name:
    Martin Pauly
    kep5niner and WannFly like this.
  2. N1120A

N1120A Cleared for Takeoff

Display Name:

Display name:
    N1120A
    ATC communication should be easy. Just read back exactly what they said and fly it, unless it puts your safety at risk. If you need something, be ready to concisely ask for it and communicate it when the frequency permits.

As a pilot, I can't tell you how many times I cringe at blocked frequencies when it is blatantly clear that the crew doing the blocking wasn't listening to the frequency. Just wait. If they need you, they will talk to you. Oh, and it isn't just the small VFR weekend warriors who do that - I hear airline and corporate pilots do it ALL THE TIME.

3. eman1200

eman1200 Touchdown! Greaser!

Display Name:

Display name:
    eman1200
    So how do you say ‘bag’ and ‘table’ in German?

4. NoHeat

NoHeat En-Route

Display Name:

Display name:
    Tute (pronounce toot-uh) and Tisch (pronounced as it looks to an English speaker).

Not sure why the magazine author confused those two words, but it reminds me of a story, from a pilot.