Good advice for engineers today

BTDT - got the t-shirt. Then got a financial manager.

First thing I learned - "Exit strategy is not 'when the money's gone, you exit the market.'"

I'm an engineer and am good with numbers... Fortunately for me I started investing in the market in 2008 and am primarily in cheap index funds. Maybe when my portfolio gets bigger I will hire a financial manager but right now I'm liking my low fee vanguard funds.

Where'd it go? Oh, let's see:

* Massively short AMZN right before earnings when Bernanke did his first rate cut and my stops didn't save me.
* Bunch of TLT puts that played on the whole "surely the fed can't keep this up, the bond market won't let him"
* Held SRS waaaaay too long (daily inverse funds decay...)
* Short SPX from 1900 because "no way this keeps going, fed surely can't..."

Also violated my own trading rules and got burned each time. Now I'm smarter, much more patient and now have a loss to back up every single trade rule. :)

Where'd it go? Oh, let's see:

* Massively short AMZN right before earnings when Bernanke did his first rate cut and my stops didn't save me.
* Bunch of TLT puts that played on the whole "surely the fed can't keep this up, the bond market won't let him"
* Held SRS waaaaay too long (daily inverse funds decay...)
* Short SPX from 1900 because "no way this keeps going, fed surely can't..."

Also violated my own trading rules and got burned each time. Now I'm smarter, much more patient and now have a loss to back up every single trade rule. :)

The market can stay irrational longer than you can stay solvent. :wink2:

(And inverse ETFs? Come on man those are wealth destroying inventions)

<The market can stay irrational longer than you can stay solvent.>

I see someone is quoting Lord Keynes.

(And inverse ETFs? Come on man those are wealth destroying inventions)

Yeah. But. I held SKF and LEH puts when Lehman blew up. That... was a good day.