Going to therapy

B

Bigwheel 88

I am a commercial pilot, went through training and it left me a little on edge. Feel a lot better now that I am through with training. But I have developed this weird breathing pattern that tires out my diagram. My doc told me it's just stress, but now it's kinda in my head. I was curious if I going to a therapist just work on my stress management is a reportable/groundable event?

If the training that put you on edge and caused you to be stressed out was flight training, yeah you need to self ground.

Try the simple stuff first, if you have not already - healthier diet, decent amount of sleep, regular exercise, cut back on the coffee & alcohol, that sort of thing.

If the flight training is the source of the acute stress, is this really what you want to do in life?

thanks for the replies. This definitely isn't my first time through training. Its never really been a problem until now and anyone who says they don't get stressed out through training is a liar. The flying really isn't what has caused me stress, like I said before it was left me with some bad breathing habits that my doc told me are stressed related.

thanks for the replies. This definitely isn't my first time through training. Its never really been a problem until now and anyone who says they don't get stressed out through training is a liar. The flying really isn't what has caused me stress, like I said before it was left me with some bad breathing habits that my doc told me are stressed related.

Granted I'm only training for the PPL but training has been everything but stressful for me. I'm enjoying the hell out of it and can't wait for the next lesson. It's a getaway from stress.

Only thing less stressful is a vacation on a lake with a beer and a fishing pole...

I don't know about the medical requirements but I definitely think you need some help with this.

Last edited: