gliding question

Witmo

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Tim
Any of you experienced glider pilots purposely broken the tow rope? I've been towing for a couple of months and haven't found anyone who has done this. We've been debating whether to land on tow or attempt to break the rope in the event neither aircraft can release.

I can't remember if I've done it on purpose but I have broken ropes. It isn't hard to do. I've also landed on tow as an exercise and it was really fun. If I had a real double release failure I'd probably break the rope just to keep things simple.

The procedure you follow should be established between the tow and glider pilots before the launch. (Good idea to make it clear you have done this for the practical test). At my glider club, it was something like tow to position over or upwind of airport, make two attempts at a rope break and then if necessary land together.

i havent had a tow failure yet, but also did some landing on tow practice around the same time and place that Matt did.

OK, I'll bite. What's the procedure to purposefully break loose?

I've had an actual release failure where the latch in the front of the Grob 103A I was flying let go of the rope at about 140' AGL. Departed 30 at Minden and made it back on the 16 with a little help from some lift over the fields just NW of the airport.

If you purposefully break the rope, or if the tow has to let it go and you're hauling a bunch of line, I don't remember if there's any special procedure for insuring that the dragging line doesn't become a problem. Is there? Is it as simple as landing long and steep so you're not dragging the line over the airport fence?

It's been a few years - just curious.

i havent had a tow failure yet, but also did some landing on tow practice around the same time and place that Matt did.

Yea and since I was in the front seat I guess I did it first. HA!

or was I in the back seat? Not sure I guess...