Glass Cockpit Failures

• Thread starter Ted Spitzmiller
  • Start date
T

Ted Spitzmiller

Hi, I'm a CFII and author who is new to POA. I am preparing an article on the problems and pitfalls of handlng in-flight failures with the glass cockpit environment. I am interested in any situations you have encountered or have heard about that might be helpful in understanding the problems posd by this aspect of the TAA.

Thank you,

Ted

I verified Ted's credentials in the Airman Database. Yup, he exists with the credential stated; sorry, Ted, we have to check--we sometimes get lawyers or newspaper reporters posing to be other than they say to get "dirt" to use against GA.

Last edited:
Yup, that person exists with the credential stated; sorry, Ted, we have to check--we sometimes get lawyers or newspaper reporters posing to be other than they say to get "dirt" to use against GA.
Troy, you know that comes from a gubmint site. You can't trust them! :D

In all seriousness, there have been complaints about the Garmin G-1000 blanking out. Someone said it happen to them in one our three G-1000 equipped Skyhawks. No one else has seen it.

Cessna and Garmin are aware of it but cannot duplicate the problem. Right now, their only speculation is it may be interference by cell phones left on. I've gotten well over fifty hours between the three and have never had a problem. But, on IFR flights I am conscious of turning off my cell phone.

Cessna may have more information on the issue. I'd love to know more.

Was that both screens at once?