Garmin 430 training help

Discussion in 'Cleared for the Approach' started by steviedeviant, Dec 27, 2018.

Tags:
  1. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,162
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    Here's an example I recently saw (the actual approach is probably different, but the concept the same). Since @olasek is based in Oakland, let's do the KOAK ILS or LOC/DME 28R.
    upload_2019-1-8_13-33-3.png upload_2019-1-8_13-33-59.png

    Loading vectors to final in the GNS boxes will give you a straight line extending outward from CUVSA but you will not see any of the other fixes. A simple "proceed direct GROVE, maintain 3,400 until established, cleared for the approach." Will have you scrambling to reload the approach so you can get there and meet all the pre-GSI step-down fixes (or flying it like Jerry W :D). I saw that one take place for the first time in 2009 when I safety piloted for a friend with G1000. It's pretty much what led the FAA to add the AIM recommendation to not use VTF.

    What the GTN series does different is, loading VFT will show all the fixes on the straight line between NAGVY and the runway. That solves a lot of the problem - "Direct GROVE" just means hopping into the flight plan, selecting GROVE and hitting D→. This has led some instructors to forego teaching "load a logical IAF along your route of flight." Problem is, if yo are coming from the southeast, all it takes is ATC deciding, "proceed direct CYMBL" to produce the same scrambling result. Been there. Seen it. And it's a potential issue on any approach with fixes outside the extended FAC - like every approach with a T-configuration).
     
  2. bill98

    bill98 Pre-Flight

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    bill98
    Vectors to final as seen in ForeFlight for the same approach 6AFDE991-FDAE-4ADD-8A7E-6092A03FF146.png A5E06C10-0081-4986-B0EC-9A98039D8794.png B7DBAA6A-720F-488A-A31A-D57B7E584CEB.png B8CD337B-D475-4D64-8C33-19A7E0D7F9E1.png

    Vs

    Having a standard approach


    also: iPad Pro 11 is pretty sweet
     
  3. aterpster

    aterpster Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,226
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    aterpster
    Why not have the approach selected but not loaded when receiving radar vectors where ATC hasn't specified the vector end-point?
     
  4. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    9,162
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    In my scenario, ATC says "vectors to the final approach course" but then gives a fix.

    You mean leave the PROC screen with the approach chosen but not selecting VTF or any waypoint at all? I'm not even sure it can be done. I haven't tried it in the GNS, but in the GTN, Leaving the PROC screen and returning to the map page and then returning to PROC does not bring me to where I last left off. It starts all over again with "select approach."

    Even if it can be done I personally wouldn't. It "feels" incomplete to not at least load the approach and I think it would involve more button pushing at a busy time than loading the approach and doing a simple Direct or VTF or leg intercept at the appropriate time.
     
  5. PaulS

    PaulS Final Approach

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    7,702
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    PaulS
    I ask, learned that from my instructor. Ask the controller, either ask for VTF or for an IAF, or ask "Am I getting VTF or the IAF today?" Works every time. Also, at least in the Perspective system, VTF eliminates fixes not on the final approach course, but fixes on the final approach course remain along with the step downs.
     
  6. PilotRPI

    PilotRPI Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2012
    Messages:
    523
    Location:
    MA - 1B9
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    PilotRPI
    I downloaded the manual from Garmin and read through it. Really not that bad. That with the 430 (non-waas) video from Garmin taught me a whole lot.
     
  7. aterpster

    aterpster Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    2,226
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    aterpster
    My bad. I was using a G-5000 that has an FMS-like selector panel. Using your method I would select the IAF that seems reasonable for my position.
     
  8. olasek

    olasek Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,614
    Location:
    Oakland, CA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    olasek
    Correct and this brings me to another question - G1000 (that I use) has no easy way to just change the IAF (keep the loaded approach but just replace the IAF). If you guessed incorrectly and loaded the wrong transition you now have to reload the whole approach (including BARO min), seems like Garmin could have added such option.