Garmin 345 R Q

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, May 8, 2019.

  1. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    anyone knows if 345R will input density altitude to 480?
     
  2. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    I'd call Garmin and ask them. The 345 does calculate density altitude if equipped with an OAT sensor.
     
  3. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    from Garmin

    "
    I don't believe that you can pass that information to the GNS 480, The density altitude is designed to be displayed on the GTX panel mount display.
    "
     
  4. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    I was kind of concerned about that, since the GNS-480 is a legacy device. Have you considered the GNX-375 as an option? Just curious as to your next steps.
     
  5. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,027
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    I guess that sort of makes sense. I don't think it passes DALT to any other device, 480 or not. Looking at the maintenance manual, the only data interfaces going to panel stuff is FIS-B, TIS-B and remote control.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  6. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    I honestly don't know what my next steps are. my problem is

    * ZERO panel space. I have SL-70 and there is literally no other transponders that will fit that hole
    * I have explored 375, but no place to put it in unless I get rid of 480 and I am not willing to spend 10.5k installed and loose 1 NAV/COM
    * the only option I have that I have explored before is to get rid of the century AP and replace it with GFC500 which can be moved to the pilot side giving me enough space to rack mount 345 - that is a 20k+ option

    :mad3::mad2::mad2:
     
  7. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,027
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    All you want (besides -Out) is DALT? I think I saw a panel pic where you have an EI SC5 clock. Perhaps swap that out for an AV-20S?
     
    WannFly likes this.
  8. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    hmm.. I had not explored that option. thanks. I have to think about it. I don't think as on today AV-20S meets the FAR standard for IFR clock, but 480 should be able to meet that requirement. I do have another empty hole in the panel but I already have plans for it ..lol. I will have a primary fuel gauge in there. OR I can wait for AV-30 and get rid of the vacuum system.
    their website says - AV-30-C, Certified via AML-STC, Stand-Alone, No Autopilot Integration (Mid/Late 2019)… my AP is driven by G5 and GAD 29B, so may be the no AP integrated system would work?

    on a separate note... why is the price for 345R and 345 the same.. with the R they are not putting a screen in ..grr
     
  9. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,027
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    Because they can? :(
     
    WannFly likes this.
  10. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave

    I feel for ya. The legacy Apollo gear was terrific and slim-lined, but no real like sized replacements. Sounds like no easy solution other than throw $$$ at it. I have a near new GNS-430W, and saving for the day it's no longer supported and has to be replaced. I was also lucky on my plane that the ADF could be jettisoned to make space. I do miss listening to the ball game though. :7)

    -David
     
    WannFly likes this.
  11. NordicDave

    NordicDave Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2015
    Messages:
    822
    Location:
    San Jose
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    NordicDave
    Actually for a long time, the 345R was more expensive than the 345 with a display.
     
  12. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    yah it was a awesome and state of the art set up at 2000.... now its a loooot of $$ to get it to the latest and greatest
     
  13. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    spoke to my avionics guy.. here are my options

    Option 1
    GTR 225 + GNX 375
    Take out GNS 480 = lose one ILS/ VOR
    Cost = $12250

    Option 2
    GNC 255 + GNX 375 + 106B
    Take out 480 >> still have 2 ILS / VOR
    Cost = 17420

    Option 3
    GTN 650 + 345 = 995
    Take out 480 >> still have 2 ILS / VOR
    Cost = $ 19250

    Option 4
    345R only
    Cost = $7000 installed

    Option 5

    Add GFC 500 autopilot and 345 panel mount = $19750 - take out vac system etc

    needless to say Option 4 is most economical and gets the job done, am just pizzed that i will pay the same price for the equipment and not get the screen and the other bells and whistles that comes with it
     
  14. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,027
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    How much do you think you could get for the 480 on eBay/Barnstormers/PoA/etc? How much do you think you could get for your existing AP?
     
  15. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,238
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    good question. GArmin if offering some rebate if i buy 650 + 345 etc. some are listed on ebay for like 6 grand.. no idea how much people are actually paying for. then there is the AP... no one will pay much for a Century 2000 AP for a new install, my target customer would be someone who already have one and looking for a replacement that just slides in. i cant estimate a number yet.
     
  16. asicer

    asicer En-Route

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2015
    Messages:
    4,027
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    asicer
    If 480's go for close to that listing price then that would put option 1 and option 4 very near parity.
     
    WannFly likes this.