Garmin 340 Audio Panels

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by Skymac, Jul 23, 2020.

  1. Skymac

    Skymac Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Justin
    We’re different versions of these made that had different trays? I’m doing some research and can’t find much info but I had a GMA 345 laying around and even one claims it is a slide in replacement but I can see that working with my 340. It has a threaded screw out of the back where the 345 has a tray lock.
     
  2. Jesse Saint

    Jesse Saint Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2018
    Messages:
    569
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jesse Saint
    As far as I know all of the 340's have the same tray. Most modern audio panels can use the same tray as each other. I haven't used many (if any) 345's, but if it has a tray lock connector, you will need the new tray. Most standard audio panels are also slide-in replacements for the 340's, but many of the newest ones have some slight differences that may require a few pins to be moved, or some pins added for some new fancy features.
     
  3. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    I've never seen a 345 with a tray lock, same threaded screw as the 340 and racks right in. Can you post a picture of it?
     
  4. Skymac

    Skymac Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2015
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Justin
    It’s because I’m an idiot, it’s a GMA350.... Problem Solved lol
     
  5. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    341
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    Hah, yeah, that definitely has a different tray! Though it uses the same backplate (just attaches to the tray upside down from the "standard" 340 position) so if there is enough slack in the wiring it's still pretty easy to swap over to.
     
    Skymac likes this.