G5 - dual Nav

Discussion in 'Avionics and Upgrades' started by WannFly, Aug 8, 2019.

  1. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,489
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    not so fast boys...

    under the limitation section:
    "cannot interface with dual navigators if G5 is interfaced with a non-Garmin autopilot"
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  2. Ryan Klems

    Ryan Klems Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    May 21, 2018
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rowat
    For good reason, as the actual signals (other than course or heading error) come from the navigator and the G5 system has no way of driving a relay or such to switch the +L/+R, etc signals between navigators, so if you were to hook that up, your error might be coming from the proper navigator but the other signals could be coming from the not-selected ones.
     
  3. bnt83

    bnt83 Final Approach PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Messages:
    8,722
    Location:
    Lincoln NE
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Brian
    I don't see the big deal. The G5 can already be displaying something that autopilot isn't tracking anyway. Don't forget many of these autopilots are interfaced to two separate navs and a heading bug, nothing prevents the autopilot switching from being setup incorrectly now.
     
    WannFly and denverpilot like this.
  4. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50,585
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    Garmin has never been happy nor helpful to third party autopilots since around the time they entered the autopilot market. G5 showed up around then and seemed purpose built to attach to theirs.
     
    WannFly likes this.
  5. flyingcheesehead

    flyingcheesehead Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2005
    Messages:
    22,995
    Location:
    UQACY, WI
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    iMooniac
    Nate,

    The G5 connects to numerous third-party autopilots. It merely does not provide attitude to them: Only course, heading, and course deviation. And providing the attitude to an autopilot is a whole different ball of wax than displaying it on a screen.

    Rate-based autopilots, such as S-TEC, can work just fine with one or two G5s in the panel, because they're driven by a turn coordinator that you must keep.

    Attitude-based autopilots must keep their AI the same way the rate-based ones have to keep their TC.
     
  6. denverpilot

    denverpilot Tied Down

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    50,585
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    DenverPilot
    I’m well aware of this. They made their boxes play “perfect” with each other, and “so so” with others. For various legitimate and marketing reasons.

    It’s okay. Totally not a problem for me at all.

    We didn’t play 100% with our competitor’s boxes either when we built them. No reason to. People wanted perfect, they bought all their videoconferencing toys from us.

    That’s how market leaders behave. It’s completely normal.

    Make things for your customers and if you can also make it kinda work for customers with competitor’s products, great. If not, no big deal.

    It may have seemed like a judgement about Garmin the way I phrased it. It wasn’t. They have their customers to take care of, and they usually do. You and I are both in that group.

    Everybody buys what they like and can afford. It’s cool. Personally if I end up flying again and have G5’s, Garmin’s AP is then naturally at the top of the wish list after that. No surprise there. I have no existing 70s AP to attempt to limp along. The Cessna ARC thing is headed for a dumpster. Probably should already be there. Ha.
     
  7. chemgeek

    chemgeek Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    chemgeek
    That's no different than without G5s for me. My STEC AP is coupled to the GNS430W only for course tracking. And I don't have a second GPS unit so no big deal for me.
     
  8. WannFly

    WannFly En-Route

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2016
    Messages:
    4,489
    Location:
    KFAR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Priyo
    mine had a mechanical flip switch that will switch between 480 and SL-30, that had to be taken out when I went with G5, I thought I can get it going when they enable this dual nav function... but guess not