Full Checkride Write-up (Long)

eetrojan

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
eetrojan
Here’s a more detailed write-up regarding my private checkride. It’s pretty long, so be warned that this probably isn’t all that interesting.

Some Background

I’m 50 years old and the classic case of delayed entry. I started ground school in my late 20’s, at which point my pregnant wife said “no freaking way,” and twenty years later, got back to it. Still married to the love of my life, but boys are now 19 and 15, so it’s a better time.

I started training in January of 2012. That’s some pretty simple math. In other words, I’ve been fumbling along at this for about 24 months. I took a five month hiatus when work got busy, but flying about 3 times a month, I have “amassed” about 80 hours to this point.

My DPE had some scheduling issues with our planned Saturday, and with some apologies, asked if I could do the oral on Friday and the flight portion on Saturday. Without revealing that I wholeheartedly agreed to this “inconvenience” (I figured it would be really nice to split it up, and it was!), I said I could probably make that happen.

Day 1 - The Prep and the Oral Portion

I met the examiner at my flight school on Friday afternoon. We have some things in common. Great guy.

I have prepared a binder that contained, among other things, my knowledge test report and six crispy hundred dollar bills folded inside of a clear sleeve and stapled shut. I handed him the imprisoned money first thing. He truly seemed to enjoy receiving his payment inside of, his words, a “puzzle.” Some of you may gasp at the fact that the ride was $600, but given the amount of time he put in over the two days, I think that he earned it.