Form 8500-8

U

Unregistered

This question is for the AMEs or anyone else who has been through what I am about to describe. At my last FAA physical I reported a serious condition that had kept me grounded for a couple of years . I got my medical certificate back and all is well . It is now time to take my physical again and I realized that I forgot to report the routine visits to my family Doctor for the past 3 years . In the past I had always reported all the routine stuff even though my AME told me it wasnt really required . I know policies have changed and I am wondering if I should report it now or (If the FAA is gonna make a deal out of it) just let it go . Once again , this was routine stuff that would have nothing to do with obtaining a medical certificate and consisted of 3 visits over the past 3 years.
Thanks

I'm not an expert on this area, but my gut feel is you need to contact an aviation attorney to approach the FAA for you and negotiate a deal, and to do so quickly. To "just let it go" would, I think, be a big mistake, because if they catch it before you 'fess up, revocation of all your FAA certificates will be the least they'll do, and criminal action is theoretically possible.

Maybe I'm reading it wrong but it seems like the OP said that the visits that were unreported were just routine visits.

If the visits were unrelated to the issue that grounded the pilot, I'd think the absence of that information would be moot. But, in the interest of full-disclosure surrounding the grounding issue it might have been good to disclose them.

I would think the originating AME having a good relationship and communication with the Aeromedical Branch could help smooth this over. I'm just guessing but if they saw it presented by an attorney, it might be viewed as establishing defense rather than a tactful relay of information.