Forgive me for this, but Ipad Mini or Nexus 7?

KeithASanford

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MyTurnToFly
I'm researching portable GPS units and I'm having a hard time investing $200-$300 in a unit I won't use outside of a rental airplane that may or may not already be equipped. I was sold on the Nexus 7 until I peeked into the thread and read several complaints about the GPS and pairing and the units involuntarily powering off.

I'm new to everything, so, I have no experience with foreflight, wings x, garmin pilot, avare and the like, so I'm not interested in what you like and why. I'm more interested in what runs the way it should. Without reading thousands of posts about which one is better, where can I find an aviation based objective review of both devices? What's the most dependable combination of device and app, or am I just lobbing another snowball, causing another war? It's certainly not my intention to once again pit brother against brother.

Your patience with me is much appreciated.

To me, it's a matter of which App you like best. Once you determine that, then pick the platform. Example, ForeFlight is only on the iPad so if that is your choice, iPad is the answer.

Either device is fine so pick the App and then the device.

I use ForeFlight and iDevices FWIW.

Cheers

To me, it's a matter of which App you like best. Once you determine that, then pick the platform. Example, ForeFlight is only on the iPad so if that is your choice, iPad is the answer.

Either device is fine so pick the App and then the device.

I use ForeFlight and iDevices FWIW.

Cheers

So is there a simulator? How do I pick an app without using it?

Find a friend!