Foreflight Waypoints Not Right

Discussion in 'Hangar Talk' started by Utah-Jay, Aug 9, 2020.

  1. Utah-Jay

    Utah-Jay Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    KHCR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay
    I am inputting custom user waypoints into foreflight and they are not showing up on the map in the correct location. In a test I put in my home coordinates and then did a direct to and it is 14 NM to the SE.

    I am using the format that is laid out in FF.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Kelvin

    Kelvin En-Route

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,974
    Location:
    Garner NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    KTD
  3. Utah-Jay

    Utah-Jay Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    KHCR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay
  4. Hang 4

    Hang 4 Line Up and Wait

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2017
    Messages:
    941
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Hang 4
    Did you double check your coordinate format? There are three different ones. From Wikipedia, cause I'm lazy this morning "The numerical values for latitude and longitude can occur in a number of different units or formats: sexagesimal degree: degrees, minutes, and seconds : 40° 26′ 46″ N 79° 58′ 56″ W. degrees and decimal minutes: 40° 26.767′ N 79° 58.933′ W. decimal degrees: 40.446° N 79.982° W."
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  5. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    18,787
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    @Zhunter .. To double check your typed in formatting, create a way point by
    1. firing up ForeFlight and going to the maps. Use the aerial or street map layer if that helps you.
    2. moving the map to the area containing your way point
    3. touching the map where your way point is to be
    4. tapping "More" on the line where the lat/long coordinates appear
    5. tapping "Save" to add a short name and additional details.
    6. compare the formatting FF generated with how you typed in
    See if that helps you and report back.
     
  6. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    18,787
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    Anyhow.... Unless someone has a large amount of custom waypoints to input (such as a pipe line patrol, photo lawn mowing, or SAR), I find it simpler just to do it one point at a time via the Maps screen in FF.

    With the Aerial View and Street View layers, it's easy to find the spot I want to pick out, and the zoom in is sufficient to get it accurate enough for my needs.
     
  7. Warlock

    Warlock Cleared for Takeoff PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,118
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Warlock
    There are some conversion apps to change format if that’s the issue... use them all the time with offshore passages...different routing programs use different formats and updating position is critical to get back the best data.
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  8. midlifeflyer

    midlifeflyer Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    11,642
    Location:
    Chapel Hill NC
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Mark
    That's is certainly a possibility. I had a table of waypoints of Colorado mountain passes I created back in the day when my only GPS was a Garmin 396. Moved them wholesale into FF when I got it 9 years ago. Everything was in the right place although I had to check to make sure the minutes-degrees format was the right one.
     
  9. Utah-Jay

    Utah-Jay Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    KHCR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay
    Thanks all, it was a formatting issue. All set now and a bunch of backcountry waypoints have been created
     
    denverpilot likes this.
  10. AggieMike88

    AggieMike88 Touchdown! Greaser! PoA Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    18,787
    Location:
    Denton, TX
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    The original "I don't know it all" of aviation.
    What solve the conundrum?
     
  11. Utah-Jay

    Utah-Jay Pre-takeoff checklist

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    Messages:
    423
    Location:
    KHCR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Jay
    I went to DD*MM.mm from whatever the default was and it worked perfectly. The WPT coordinates I had are now right where they should be