Foreflight pre-departure clearance - is there a cheaper way?

MarkH

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
MarkH
I need to renew Foreflight and I am considering upgrading to Performance Plus, but before I do I want to see if it's most appealing feature is available in any cheaper offering.

Is there any way to get IFR clearance in text for cheaper than Foreflight?

I am starting IFR training and I feel like this could reduce workload, but I don't want to pay $100/year for it if I do not have to.

Just for reference, this is what I am talking about:
https://foreflight.com/products/pdc/

I'm a Pro Plus subscriber, and fairly underwhelmed with Performance Plus. Many of the features are not as capable as claimed. I upgraded and then quickly downgraded back to Pro Plus. Using FF for VFR flight plan filing is spotty. About half the time VFR flight plans filed through FF, never make it to flight services. In two different flight services conservations, both reps confirmed this to be true. They handle a lot of calls from pilots to close flight plans only to discover the plans are not in the system. I hope the IFR process is better and more reliable.

Edit: Leidos flight service

Last edited:
Maybe Leidos Flight Service?

FF 3D view on approach to KSQL:
Foreflight3dKSQL.png

Google Earth approach to KSQL:
KSQL-GoogleMaps2.png

It's like FF is using the autogenerated visuals from X-Plane or something. Their best demo's show mountain passes when the auto generated trees and shrubs look more complete, but they don't have major landmarks.

Point being, I like FF just seem the latest upper tier capabilities are works in progress.

Do you fly, or plan to fly, at one of the 70 major airports that PDC works at?

https://foreflight.com/support/pdc/#airports

If not, there is no benefit to this feature.

Also must have a Satcom Direct subscription and can only get PDC clearance once every 18 hours per airport. Really seems Performance plus is focused at the Jet level.