Following a STAR while on Flight Following

Ravioli

Ejection Handle Pulled
Display Name

Display name:
Unwanted Guest - Perma-ban Pending
This if for the controller types out there.

I'm an IFR student. Would you notice/care about this scenario. Assume severe clear whether.

I depart 3M0 and pick up flight following to T67 @ 8000'. Rather than Direct-to... I punch in the FSM.Sasie5 arrival and let auto and the 430W do their things.

I understand I'm own-navigation, but would the deviation North of the direct track raise an eyebrow?

In reality they'll either take over and vector me through the Bravo at the end or dump me and tell me to go around it.

Getting practice approaches is easy, but I'm curious about practice arrivals

Thanks.

Just request it. They'll more than likely approve it, plus ATC knows what your sneaky ass is up to. ;):D

My experience is that as long as you're headed in the proper general direction of the declared destination, ATC will allow the Flight Following pilot to continue without query.

But communicating your intentions never hurts.

Last edited:
8000 instead of 8500 might get questioned. I can't find a Sasie5 arrival. What airport does it go to?

There’s no STAR into T67 so you would never get one. Do you have the arrival plate?

Sorry.. the STAR is to KAFW (6NM NE)

@AggieMike88 and it also serves KFTW where I do land routinely. Perhaps should have used that one as the example :(

it also serves KFTW where I do land routinely
Discovering which SID's and STAR's that serve your home 'drome is some of the fun in flying in the system.

My experience is that as long as you're headed in the proper general direction of the declared destination, ATC will allow the Flight Following pilot to continue without query.

But communicating your intentions is really a good idea.

FTFY
my favorite line so far has been: I’m gonna head up toward Laramie and hang a left at the state line.