Flying Tomorrow Morning To Monterey

kimberlyanne546

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Kimberly
I've never done this before, but the plane is free ALL DAY on New Years Day, and my last two planned flights have been scrapped due to weather, and I thought "what the heck why not."

It is 9pm and I just had the idea to fly South to Monterey. I've never flown anywhere that far away before since my long solo XC (It is about 100nm), and I've never flown anywhere to "do" something before (lunch, etc). The BF and I would go there, rent a car (not sure about that), and visit the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium.

Several questions:

In my training, when planning a cross country, I always thought 3,500 and above, no matter what (even, odd, etc). But when you fly from Petaluma towards Half Moon Bay, they often tell you to stay clear of the Bravo (and DON'T give VFR pilots a transition), which puts you below 2,000 feet out over open water.

So can you simply fly the coast, below 3,000 feet? And would you? I know it might not be recommended, but it seems much more scenic, avoids terrain and airspace issues, etc. etc. etc. And if you look at the route from Petaluma to Monterey, it won't add that many extra miles. And I certainly can't get lost following the coast line.

I'm not home, so I don't have my FAR / AIM, etc. I don't even have my plotter or flight plan sheets, I'm going to have to use online tools for the first time!

Of course, I rarely go to class "C" airports, and without my AFD I'm going to rely on AirNav for frequencies etc..... this is going to be a challenge for sure but not beyond my abilities.

My "dream" flight, if weather cooperates. Fingers crossed. So far, the IFR isn't predicted to clear until after 11am but I'll keep my eyes on it tomorrow.

Anyone ever been to Monterey? Is it a pretty busy airport? I need to figure out information on where to park etc and if they would like me to buy gas I can do that too.