Flying near wildfire smoke

Skyscraper

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Skyscraper
Well, threw my flight bag in my trunk on the way to work today. All jazzed up to go fly for the first time in a week or so, and there's a 200 acre fire burning not far from my home airport. I'm not experienced with guidelines regarding the safety of flying near fires, but I'm probably not flying today. Bummed as this was one of the only days I could get up this week. Who's got experience/knowledge to drop on this subject? Specifically with flying within the vicinity of smoke. I know flying through it is obviously very dangerous, but are there specific guidelines or regulations?

Smoke isn't as much of a hazard as other aircraft. Within minutes of the discovery there will likely be a spotter plane, air tankers, and helicopters. A TFR is usually put over the fire at the same time air assets are ordered.

Here's an animated illustration to fire airspace.
http://www.airspacecoordination.org/coord/fta.html

Yeah I usually give a wide birth for Forrest fires. Don't want to breath it in if at all possible and if they snuck a TFR in on me I don't want to violate it. Also in some cases the vis can get downright nasty inside.

Watch the smoke. It can raise havoc with in-flight visibility. Ran through a smoke plume from a fire in the Cascades last September and had to go on the guages for 5 minutes or so as I couldn't see anything. Fortunately, I was on an IFR plan, so it didn't matter in that respect, but it sure can get your attention.

There is a fire burning in Banning Pass as I write this - and its up to 8000 feet- yes - Eight THOUSAND. Kinda puts a crimp in the being able to get throught he pass - but - its 94F out with a minus 1 dp - winds howling from the East. Ugly day in SoCal