Fly and Bike

Tarrow

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Bruce
It’s Spring and time to get flying, and biking. I thought I’d start a thread for those interested in trips using their fold up bicycles. I’ve been doing this for over 10 years and have a destination page with places to fly. I’m not a road biker so I look for airports with easy access to a trail system with my mountain bike. Google maps has the bicycle overlay which makes it easy to find trails. Here’s my list that might get you started: http://www.rovingbits.com/FlyBike/FlyBike.html
Post and share the places you like to fly and bike. Some of these airports might also be of interest to hikers as well. It’s fun to combine our love of flying with a mode of travel on the ground other than a rental car. Day trips or longer are possible. Happy flying...

Awesome! Nice to know some other fly and bikers out there. My wife and I have recently started flying and biking. I fly a small trainer so had to find the lightest bike I can find and we both like our Zizzo Liberte bikes. So far, we have been to KPIM and rode from the airport to Callaway Gardens' bike trail with a stop at their cafe. Really enjoyed it and it started our flying and biking bug. We have been to KCTJ to ride their 18 mile loop around town, but requires a courtesy car drive to it. Looking to try Jekyll Island next, but thanks for your list we will definitely expand our destinations...

Last edited:
I see a fair number of folks pulling bikes out of their planes at KCDK.

I've flown to Creve Couer, MO (1H0) (St. Louis area) with my bike a few times. From here it's a very quick ride to the famous Katy Trail, which follows the Missouri River from St. Louis to Kansas City. From the ramp to the trail is 4.3 miles (specifically, to the Page Bridge trail head); half of it is bike-friendly roads and the other half dedicated bike lanes, including the bridge across the Missouri River (on the side, protected from other traffic).