Flunky takes IFR checkride..

fiveoboy01

Pattern Altitude
Display Name

Display name:
Dirty B
Boo!

Did my IFR checkride today. I was very nervous about the oral portion and not worried about the flight portion. Turns out things happened the opposite way...

Oral, breezed through it. One or two questions I needed a hint but the majority of it I had no problem with. I studied a LOT.

Flight portion - first instrument approach was an ILS. Went ok... half a dot off here and there. Missed approach procedure is a hold on a radial 9.2 DME(VOR on the field). Made the teardrop entry.. Mistake: forgot to spin the OBS to the inbound course. Stayed on the protected side anyways. Realized my mistake, spun the OBS 180 degrees, did one more lap. Timing by the 4th lap was pretty close. Not fail-worthy.

Forgot the pre-landing checklist on the first approach. Remembered it the other 2 approaches.

Followed up with a GPS approach including a course reversal. Easy, no problems, LPV approach, both needles dead on the entire approach to the miss.

Last approach - VOR with a circle to another runway. Due to runway closures this was a VOR approach to 18 with a circle to 21. ATC vectored me in sort of close, but I wasn't worried. Just before I got established on the final approach course, DPE covers my DG and AI. I was expecting it, so no big deal. But the cover kept falling off the AI. At one point he had to take the controls while I fished it out from between my feet. Distraction...