Flight training deductible if I plan to instruct as a business in the future?

camel

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Camel
Hi everyone,

I'm currently a PPL and I plan to eventually get my instrument, commercial and CFI, so I can make a little bit of money in the future. Since my training and hours are working towards this goal, can I deduct any of my expenses from my income, for tax purposes? Thanks

That AOPA article has some great information and reading it gave me a possible idea.

Even though I have been working in aviation maintenance for 35 years, I only received my PPL about 6 years ago and since then added my MEL & SES to my SEL. I am currently working on my CPL with the hopes that I can do a little bit of commercial flying on the side such as ferry flights, jump pilot, banner towing, etc. I have no desire to fly for the airlines and am a little long in the tooth anyway to start now.

My question is this. I do not have my IFR but would like to get it. As I can fly certain jobs commercially but have some limitations due to no IFR, I wonder if I can deduct my IFR training once I actually start to fly some commercially. As I would have already achieved the entry point level of training for the new career and began working, the IFR would fall under the area included in this part from the AOPA article.

If you can get by these first two hurdles, you must now consider whether the flight training you received was (1) necessary to meet the requirements of your employer (or of law or regulations) for keeping your salary, status, or employment; or (2) necessary to maintain or improve skills required in performing your current duties. In order for your expenses to be deductible, you must be able to respond "yes" to one of these questions.

It would definitely improve my skills for doing ferry flights.

Thoughts?

You might be right. I do not know. But I think it is a much grayer area than the OP's question.