Flight Plan ACTIVATION Garmin Pilot

FPK1

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
FPK1
I've been using Foreflight with iPad for about 6 months and since my new plane is all Garmin (G1000 NXi, GTN345 and FS510) I'm transitioning to Garmin Pilot on an iPad and Android phone.

So far only one flight made using Garmin Pilot and that was Bluetooth to GTN345 and legacy G1000 and I enjoyed Pilot. I have also made many flight plans on GP and so far find it pretty user friendly on the iPad.

The one function I am missing is the actual ACTIVATION of a filed flight plan. On FF it was very easy with an internet connection.

Am I missing something, is there an easy way to activate a filed flight plan just before take off? (On iPad or Android phone?)

Or back to old school calling up Flight Service on the radio?

Or how do you do it?

I don’t remember the exact sequence, depends on whether you use iPhone or iPad, but yes you can activate (fill in flight plan) from a plan (trip) you’ve filed.
Maybe menu->activate, or activate is right on the trip page…it’s not something buried deep, I never had a problem finding it.

For the unfamiliar, trips page are saved flight plans, the flight plan page is the activate flight plan.

I know you didn’t ask, but foreflight works great with garmin equipment if you prefer foreflight. Personally, I preferred garmin pilot when I flew vfr, but I find foreflight better for IFR, so if you don’t plan on flying ifr, I do recommend sticking with garmin.

just didn’t want you to think interfacing with garmin equipment for flight would be better with garmin pilot.

You have to “create a trip”, then in your trip planning area find the trip then “file” to file with flight services. “Activate” simply moves a saved trip to your active flight plan. You will find file and activate in the “actions” drop down.

I know you didn’t ask, but foreflight works great with garmin equipment if you prefer foreflight.