Flight Following Question

Somedudeintn

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
somedudeintn
Hello Everyone,

I'm a fairly new Private Pilot and made my longest XC (KLZU-KDKX and back)to date yesterday. This was my first time using flight following and I did not ever recieve any traffic advisories. I did see one aircraft cross my path a few thousand ft below and was surprised that I did not hear anything about that traffic, even though it wasn't an issue.

I guess what I'm trying to figure out is what are the typical vertical and horizontal distances that traffic has to be to be advised of when using Flight Following?

Last edited:
In my experience it varies a lot. I've had controllers call out every bit of traffic, even if he's +/- 2k ft from my altitude, and I've had to prod other controllers to get direction of flight and speed info on traffic that I spotted close to me that they hadn't called. Once I was close enough to another aircraft that ATC asked, "Hey Nxxxxx, are you a flight of two?" :eek: Thankfully I saw him before ATC called that out.

First welcome!!! I have found this forum to be a great resource... just don't bring up metal landing calculators.........

I fly in the ATL airspace too so great to know another pilot looking to learn is sharing it with me. I am based at RYY, we may have to hook up at some point at one of the restaurants at your field or mine.

In my experience, Atlanta Approach tends to only call traffic that is within 1,000 feet vertically and 2 miles. Not sure this is a rule or not but seems to be what I have experienced. I have done a number of flights that I never hear a traffic advisory. When I do they are usually fairly close and or converging.