Flight cancelled due to wind - where can I get wind (and other) data?

Jack S

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Jack
I'm just starting out as a student pilot and only have time to fly on the weekends. But during the last couple of weeks my instructor has cancelled the flying lesson due to strong winds (doesn't help that I'm flying the Evektor SportStar).

Does anyone know a good resource for wind (and other relevant data) for general aviation?

I found the wind rose chart on the NOAA web site but it doesn't look very user friendly...

I'm just starting out as a student pilot and only have time to fly on the weekends. But during the last couple of weeks my instructor has cancelled the flying lesson due to strong winds (doesn't help that I'm flying the Evektor SportStar).

Does anyone know a good resource for wind (and other relevant data) for general aviation?

I found the wind rose chart on the NOAA web site but it doesn't look very user friendly...
Is he canceling the day of? If so, he is probably just going by the METAR/TAF data. You can find that here:
https://aviationweather.gov/taf

I use https://maps.avnwx.com/ before almost every flight. It allows you to see the wind at your airport, and anywhere else around, as well as winds aloft and Airmets for turbulence. Type in your airport ID and distance that you want weather and click "Update Map". Then go to "Weather" in the upper left and select everything you want to see. I usually select: Airmets, METARS, PIREPS, Winds Aloft, TFRs, Stadium TFRs and NEXRAD Composite.

I use Aviation Weather iPhone app.
99b7382794b25e99d30af799ce9ee87d.png

Similar app, I use AeroWeather (Lite), which is free. Darn cheap pilots.

One of the nice things I like here is the Nearby option, which gives you everything close in a glance.

D500BB7F-2D61-45AC-B2EE-CDC7F882B6A0.png

As able, try to target a time of day where winds may be lighter. Of course with a front coming through it can be windy at all hours.