First Plane and Cirrus SR20 Gen 1/2/3 related questions.

spdracer888

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
spdracer888
Hi all, newbie here and I'm considering my first plane. Let me explain my situation and what I plan to do with the plane:

1. I'm not asking about Rent vs Buy; as Rent is definitely cheaper.
  2. I'm looking to buy because I want be on my own schedule.
  3. I don't have my VFR yet and all my training so far has been in the 152s & 172s.
  4. I like to finish my VFR and IFR in it and perhaps step up to a SR-22 in a few years.
  5. I plan to fly to places mainly on the East Coast that are within 350 miles away from me a few times a month. Maybe once in a while do a trip that's 1,000 miles.
  6. While a plane is a depreciating asset, I hate losing my shirt on depreciation after a few years. Hence I'm looking for a pre-owned plane.
  7. When I'm not flying, I would like to have the plane be available to rent (not to student pilots), though I'm still not 100% sure on this.
  8. I have the financial resource to buy something up to $200K, though I don't need to have the latest and the greatest.
  9. SR-20 is my top choice b/c I like the way it looks, its glass cockpit and its performance for a fixed gear single prop.
  10. I'm don't have to have a SR-20. A friend of mine recommended the Grumman Tiger as my first plane.
With that said, I'm interested in hearing from people who have seriously considered purchasing or purchased a Cirrus SR-20. There's a big difference in price between Gen 1 and Gen 3 SR-20s. Are there noticeable difference in maintenance, performance and reliability between Gen 1/2/3? If you have seriously considered a Cirrus but ended up with something else, what is it and why?

I appreciate all the help in advance.

Last edited: