Firefox Quantum is out.....

Discussion in 'Technical Corner' started by flhrci, Nov 14, 2017.

  1. Rushie

    Rushie Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    Windows 7 Home. I usually get Pro but this time my husband had bought a three machine license so I took it. I don't know if that makes the difference or not. Maybe my AV internet security slows stuff down. But Chrome doesn't seem to be as slow.
     
  2. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,856
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    I use 32-bit. You can 32-bit on a 64-bit computer, but not vice-versa. I recommend 32.

    I have no idea why anyone would want 64-bit (other than developers) as long as it has less functionality. For some software, it makes a big difference. For a Web browser... not so much.

    Rich
     
  3. Rushie

    Rushie Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    Thanks! I'm definitely not a developer so I'll go with 32 bit.
     
  4. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,856
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    That wouldn't surprise me.

    All I know for sure is that running Firefox and Pale Moon side-by-side, opened to the same pages, FF uses two to three time the CPU and RAM as PM does. I have no idea why and don't care enough to find out. Other than a few secure sites that barf on it because they don't recognize it as a secure client, PM does everything FF does and does it faster and more efficiently. So it's what I use most of the time.

    I fully expect Pale Moon to become crap at some point, however. FF used to be fast and lean, too.

    Rich
     
  5. Rushie

    Rushie Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    Wow! Pale moon is MUCH faster than FF on my machine. Don't know why. But it seems to have broken my Keepass. I cannot drag and drop the usernames and passwords into Palemoon, and when I click on the URL it no longer opens in any browser, even when I reset my default browser back to Firefox, keepass no longer wants to open the URLs. I'll have to work on that and if Palemoon doesn't give the drag and drop function to keepass that'll be a problem, but otherwise I'm loving it.

    PS edit, well KeePass fixed itself. I closed everything, reopened everything and now it works. That was easy.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  6. EppyGA

    EppyGA Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10,180
    Location:
    Hoschton, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Let's Fly
    I cannot leave FF up over night. If I do I am not able to close it short of killing it with Task Manager. When started with 18 tabs it is useless until every tab has loaded.
     
  7. EppyGA

    EppyGA Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10,180
    Location:
    Hoschton, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Let's Fly
    This morning my CPU was pegged at 100%, when I killed FF it went down to 10%
     
  8. Rushie

    Rushie Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    I'm loving it. Been using Palemoon all day and the difference is amazing. Nothing else changed, I'm doing all the same kind of workload. I was getting very sick of Firefox's new dot at the left side of each tab that bounces back and forth while it's loading a page. Soooooooo slow.
     
  9. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9,139
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    I did the FF upgrade and since then I've had to reboot my pc every time. BUT, I just did the 'refresh firefox' and so far it's been great. try that, Eppy.
     
  10. EppyGA

    EppyGA Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    10,180
    Location:
    Hoschton, GA
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Let's Fly
    Linkie
     
  11. eman1200

    eman1200 Final Approach

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2013
    Messages:
    9,139
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    eman1200
    go to the 'open menu' three bars icon in the top right corner, then 'help', then 'troubleshooting information', then under 'Give Firefox a tune up' click 'refresh firefox...' I think that's where you need to start, then go from there, but so far so good for me.
     
  12. Graueradler

    Graueradler Pattern Altitude

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,021
    Location:
    Russellville, AR
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Graueradler
    I switched from Firefox when they fired someone for their choice of who to make a political donation to. I don't see them making a better browser, if it is, erasing that.
     
  13. RJM62

    RJM62 Touchdown! Greaser!

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    11,856
    Location:
    Catskill Mountains, New York
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Geek On The Hill
    about:support

    Rich
     
  14. Rushie

    Rushie Cleared for Takeoff

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,178
    Display Name:

    Display name:
    Rushie
    Okay to be fair, I disabled a couple of Firefox addons and only kept the one that is equivalent to the Palemoon popup blocker. It is faster today. But I don't know if that was the problem or if they're fixing something else on the other end, or maybe it being Sunday morning has something to do with it. Also if you haven't cleared the cache of any browser I think that affects performance, but I have it set to clear everything each time I close. I still think Palemoon is better.